Peugeot 2008 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

For anyone who has never experienced Malta, the country is small with roads being densely packed. My daily weekday journey runs between 20 - 35 minutes never going more than 60km/hr. In this time frame the Start/Stop function would kick in between 4 - 8 times.

Someone told me that given the short distances and short travel time I should disable the ECO function. I recall the phrase "ruin the starter" in the conversation.

I'm not a car techie (haven't yet gotten round to opening the bonnet
).

I would be interested in listening to your opinion on the matter please.

Thanks,
Alan

·
Registered
2,035 Posts
Hi Alan.

That constant 'stop/start' annoys me, especially when coming to a roundabout or minor junction when I know I'll be wanting instant acceleration.

I'm in the habit of pressing the 'eco' button (on the dash just to the side of the steering wheel). That stops it cutting out until I clear the area then I re-engage it so it cuts the engine at traffic lights or where there's a longer delay.

Al.

PS:....and yes, I have been to Malta many times. Always have a ride on your buses. We love them.

Edited by: allan40alt

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Al,

I'm not that bothered by the cutting off; I just don't want a false sense of economy; this constant stopping and starting would, in the medium term, end up costing me more in components that end up lasting far less because of the ECO effect.

Next time you're in Malta contact me I'll give you a ride in my 2008 - anyway's Arriva have left Malta and a new bus provider should materialize soon.

Alan

·
Registered
540 Posts
chribonn said:
Hi Al,

I'm not that bothered by the cutting off; I just don't want a false sense of economy; this constant stopping and starting would, in the medium term, end up costing me more in components that end up lasting far less because of the ECO effect.