Peugeot 2008 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i already have a 6 speed manual 2008 so this thread is purely for curiosity purposes! i just love knowing why and how things work......it's a curse!!!

before the 2008 i drove an auto for 4 years and as soon as it was shifted "D" the car sat at bite point and it was impossible to roll the car back under any circumstances. how the gearbox worked and how and why this happened made perfect sense to me and i fully understood it.

I have seen a fair few people say they have had their autos rolling back for one issue or another and this got me wondering how peugeots auto system works?? for some reason i just cant comprehend how an auto gearbox in "D" could go backwards surely it has to sit at a bite point in order to work? i havnt seen or driven one so i don't have that benefit unfortunately.

would someone be kind enough to explain how the system works please?? engineer by trade so you can use big words (to a degree)

T.I.A!!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Nice to see your investigating my issue.hope to understand its operation too. As the egc is classed as semi auto it doesnt work like my old auto ie P,D,R,N but inly has R,A and flick for manual gear + an - changes. Like i mentioned with the HSA te car doesnt have regular bite point on clutch so juggling the throttle and handbrake can be hard especially on a sligt him. Especially if your parked in tight spot in a hill. Manouevering with the hsa no engaging is hard as the semi auto doesnt have a bite point like my last auto dud. To complicate things, as the eco works on 5mph or lower moving from a tight spot always req switching eco off which can be a pain.
I rode in my dads DSG auto yest and found all these listed issues are obsolete on his vehicle as the dual clutch seems to have better mechanics and the bite is more apparent to operate easier.

·
Registered
540 Posts